Hans Weingartner

Hans Weingartner

Darsteller, Regie, Drehbuch, Kamera, Schnitt, Produzent
*02.11.1970 Feldkirch, Vorarlberg, Österreich


Hans Weingartner, born November 2, 1970, in the Austrian town of Feldkirch, studied physics, brain research, and neurosurgery in Vienna and Berlin from 1990 to 1997. In 1993/94, he simultaneously earned a diploma as a camera assistent in Vienna. In 1997, Weingartner enrolled at the Academy of Media Arts in Cologne and graduated in 2001 with the drama "Das weiße Rauschen" ("The White Sound"). Highly praised by many critics, "Das weiße Rauschen" won several awards, including the 2001 "Max Ophuels Prize", the award as "Best movie debut" of the Association of film critics, and the 2001 First Steps Award. Thanks to his intensive performance as a schizophrenic, leading actor Daniel Brühl, virtually over night, became one of the most sought-after actors of German cinema.

Weingartner's second film, "Die fetten Jahre sind vorbei" ("The Edukators"), was shown in the competition of the 2004 Cannes film festival, as the first German language film in the competition in eleven years. From the day of its premiere on, the film became an enormous success with critics and moviegoers alike. "Die fetten Jahre sind vorbei" won numerous awards, was shown at several festivals, and drew an audience of nearly a million viewers in Germany alone. Furthermore, the film's international rights were sold to over 50 countries.

Weingartner's eagerly awaited third film, the media satire "Free Rainer – Dein Fernseher lügt" ("Reclaim Your Brain") premiered at the 2007 San Sebastian film festival.


2015-2018 303
Regie, Drehbuch
2013 Ummah - Unter Freunden
2009-2011 Die Summe meiner einzelnen Teile
Regie, Drehbuch, Produzent
2008/2009 Deutschland '09 - 13 kurze Filme zur Lage der Nation
Regie, Drehbuch
2006/2007 Free Rainer - Dein Fernseher lügt
Regie, Drehbuch, Produzent
2003/2004 Die fetten Jahre sind vorbei
Regie, Drehbuch, Produzent
1999-2001 Das weisse Rauschen
Darsteller, Regie, Drehbuch, Kamera, Schnitt
1999 Frank